XXXIII International Conference on Coordination Chemistry The Chemistry of Metal Ions in Everyday Life dedicated to Luigi Sacconi Centro Congressi e Centro Affari Firenze Firenze, Italy August 30 - September 4,XXXIII INTERNATIONAL CONFERENCE
"The Chemistry of Metal Ions in Everyday Life"
dedicated to Luigi Sacconi
Centro Congressi e Centro Affari Firenze, Firenze, Italy,
August 30 - September 4, 1998 

      On behalf of the Executive Organizing Committee, it is our pleasure to invite you to Florence for the 33rd International Conference on Coordination Chemistry from August 30 to September 4, 1998.

     The Conference will be dedicated to Luigi Sacconi, as a tribute to a wonderful scientist and his willingness in bringing the 33rd ICCC to Florence.

      The Conference program has been divided into six sessions which cover all of the areas of coordination chemistry, including those which are emerging in the scenario of the metal ion chemistry. We have scheduled nine plenary lectures which will be accompanied by a keynote lecture presenting "The View of a Nobel Laureate" . A special public pre-conference lecture will underline the links between our science and Society. In addition, four special sessions entitled "The way we were" will be a tribute to the history of Coordination Chemistry through the reminiscences of outstanding personalities. The great body of the conference program will consist of more than two-hundred invited lectures, among them a few lectures will be planned as tutorials on modern spectroscopic tools in coordination chemistry. Posters will be highlighted during two dedicated sessions and will be on exhibition at all times.

        We trust that you will come to Florence and we will do our best to make your visit both scientifically rewarding and personally enjoyable.

        Maurizio Peruzzini                                                     Ivano Bertini

        Secretary                                                                        Chairman

With the Patronage of the President of the Italian Republic

    Scientific Honor Committee 

    Vincenzo Caglioti - University "La Sapienza" , Rome 

    Vittorio Carassiti - University of Ferrara 

    Romano Cipollini - University "La Sapienza", Rome 

    Paolo Corradini - University "Federico II", Naples 

    Giacomo Costa - University of Trieste 

    Lamberto Malatesta - University of Milan

     Welcoming Committee 
    of the Inorganic Chemistry Division
    of the Italian Chemical Society
    Antonio Tiripicchio - Parma, (President of the Division)
    Giovanni Natile - Bari, (Past President)
    Rolando Barbucci - Siena
    Marina Biagini Cingi - Parma
    Luigi Busetto - Bologna
    Giulio Deganello - Palermo
    Stefano Delfino - Genova
    Felice Faraone - Messina
    Gerolamo La Monica - Milan
    Andrea Lapiccirella - Rome
    Domenico Osella - Turin
    Carlo Pedone - Naples
    Pietro Alessandro Vigato - Padua
    European Steering Committee 
    Silvio Aime - University of Turin, Italy
    Gilbert Balavoine - University of Toulouse, France
    Lucia Banci - University of Florence, Italy
    Claudio Battistoni - CNR, Rome, Italy
    Umberto Belluco - University of Padua, Italy
    Fausto Calderazzo - University of Pisa, Italy
    Maria José Calhorda - University of Lisbon, Portugal
    Ernesto Carmona - University of Sevilla, Spain
    Margaret Farago - University of Surrey, United Kingdom
    Sture Forsén - University of Lund, Sweden
    Marcel Gielen - University of Louvain-la-Neuve, Belgium
    Philip P. Gütlich - University of Mainz, Germany
    Brian F. G. Johnson - University of Cambridge, United Kingdom
    Nikos Katsaros - University of Athens, Greece
    Gregor Ondrejovic - Slovak Technical University, Bratislava, Slovakia
    Piero Paoletti - University of Florence, Italy
    Jan Reedijk - University of Leiden, The Netherlands
    Enrico Rizzarelli - University of Catania, Italy
    Claus Shäffer - Copenaghen, Denmark
    Dieter Sellmann - University of Erlangen, Germany
    Antonio Sgamellotti - University of Perugia, Italy
    Helmut Sigel - University of Basel, Switzerland
    Einar Sletten - University of Bergen, Norway
    Imre Sovago - Lajos Kossuth University, Hungary
    Hans Toftlund - University of Odense, Denmark
    Ennio Tondello - University of Padua, Italy
    Renato Ugo - University of Milan, Italy
    Luigi Maria Venanzi - University of Zurich, Switzerland
    Michel Verdaguer - University of Paris, France
    Dana Marie Wagnerova - University of Prague, Czech Republic
    Yuri Yablokov - University of Kazan, Russia
    Nicola Yordanov - Bulgarian Academy of Sciences, Sofia, Bulgaria
    Józef J. Ziólkowski - University of Wroclaw, Poland
    Local Organizing Committee 
    Eugenio Giani (Member of the City Council)
    Alberto Tronconi (Director of the CNR Research Area of Florence)
    Fund Raising Committee 
    Lucia Banci
    Antonio Bianchi
    Piero Frediani
    Public Relations Committee
    Fabrizia Fabrizi de'Biani
    Dante Masi
    Roberta Pierattelli
    Cheikh Tichiane Diop
    Finance Committee
    Paola Turano
    Paolo Dapporto
    Stefano Mangan
    Valeria Sleiter
    Welcoming Committee
    Roberta Pieratelli
    Alexander Dikiy
    Yohei Niikura
    Sponsorships Committee
    Lucia Banci
    Executive Program Management
    Fabrizio Mani
    Pierluigi Orioli
    Mario Piccioli
    Poster Selection Committee
    Massimo Di Vaira
    Piero Stoppioni
    Maria Silvia Viezzoli
    Electronic Advertisement
    Isabella C. Felli
    Andrea Ienco
    Roberto Morassi
    Lecture Halls
    Fabrizio Briganti
    Antonio Rosato
    Accompanying Members and Social Program
    Rebecca Del Conte
    Franco Cecconi
    Consultant of the Accompanying Members Committee
    Astrid Sigel


       Coordination Chemistry is a branch of Science which regards the species and the reactions involving metal ions. Historically, it began to develop in the late fifties when the laws of chemical bonding involving the metal ions begun to be understood. Eventually, this science became the basis for the investigation and application of industrial catalysis, both in homogeneous and heterogeneous phases. In fact, most of the homogeneous catalysts are coordination compounds, typically the titanium-based compounds used in Ziegler-Natta polymerization reactions. In addition, most of the heterogeneous catalysts involve metal-substrate interactions.

      The chemistry of metal ions, which is the essence of this conference as underlined by the subtitle, has exploded in the last decade due to its implications in new branches of science, including supramolecular chemistry which is a part of this meeting for what is in common with coordination chemistry. Typical examples of the chemistry of metal ions are magnetic materials, liquid crystals, electronic devices (including semi- and super-conductors), materials with non-linear optical properties, energy storage devices etc. Of course, all of these RTD strategies must take into account environmental compatibilities. Therefore great emphasis is given to the interaction of metal ions with living organisms, and particularly humans, e.g. how do lead and aluminium interact with proteins and tissues and what is the molecular basis of their toxicity?

       Metal ions have quite recently been discovered to have a catalytic role in gene factors, DNA and RNA replications and in biological catalysis of many reactions in all metabolic processes.

       Finally, metal ions have been discovered to play an important part in powerful drugs: from the famous cis-platinum and iron-bleomycin as anticancer drugs, to gold- and copper-containing drugs such as antiarthrytic. Metal ions are also often used as contrast agents, typically those used in magnetic resonance imaging.

       These are just some glimpses of the impact of coordination chemistry on the many diverse technological areas.